top cx logo
cx logo
Explorearrow down
search icon

Natural disaster zones announced

A total of 73 communes have been named after recent floods, opening the door to insurance claims

SEVENTY-THREE communes in the Midi-Pyrénées and Languedoc-Roussillon have been declared to be natural disaster zones.

The government says it will act “without delay” to officialise the measure with a listing in the Journal Officiel.

This means that people in the Gard, Aveyron and Hérault who were victims of floods last week should now lodge their insurance claims, if they have not already done so.

A declaration of a catastrophe naturelle is vital for people to be reimbursed for damage by floods, but claims must be lodged within a certain window.

A full list of the communes can be seen on the site of: Midi Libre.

For more on the procedures involved in making a claim see: Catastrophes naturelles.

Resident or second-home owner in France?
Benefit from our daily digest of headlines and how-to's to help you make the most of life in France
By joining the newsletter, you agree to our Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy
See more popular articles
The Connexion Help Guides
featured helpguide
Income Tax in France 2023 (for 2022 income)*
Featured Help Guide
- Primarily aimed at Britons, covers pensions, rent, ISAs, shares, savings and interest - but also contains significant general information pertinent to readers of other nationalities - Overview of online declarations + step-by-step guide to the French printed forms - Includes updates given automatically after this year's site opened
Get news, views and information from France