top cx logo
cx logo
Explorearrow down
search icon

Better phone signal in France: Is your town on 2020’s list?

The French government has published an official list of communes across the country that are set to receive improved mobile phone signal coverage - including 4G - by the end of 2020.

The so-called “new mobile deal” was first agreed in 2018, when the government and telecoms authority Arcep (l'Autorité de Régulation des Communications Electroniques et des Postes) launched the project with the four major mobile operators, Bouygues Telecom, Free Mobile, Orange, and SFR.

The project aims to cover all mobile phone signal “holes” in France by 2022 - including rolling out 4G coverage as much as possible.

The government has now published - in the Journal Officiel - a list of the official communes set to receive coverage by the end of 2020.

The decree reads: “This decree establishes the first list of areas to be covered, for the year 2020, by mobile radiocommunications operators participating in the targeted coverage scheme.

“These areas have been identified by the government in consultation with local authorities.”

It adds: “In each zone, the designated operators will be required to provide mobile radio-telephony and very high-speed mobile access means of the installation of new sites...ensuring the area.”

Read more: 5G mobile revolution is launched in France

Read more: Pitfalls ‘ignored’ in rush to launch 5G in France

Regions throughout France to see improvements

The decree was approved by the minister for economy and finance, Bruno Le Maire; the minister for territorial cohesion, Jacqueline Gourault; the town and housing minister, Julien Denormandie; and a junior economy and finance minister, Agnès Pannier-Runacher.

The full list is divided by region, department, and specific zone or commune, and also shows which operators will be available in the area. Some will have all four operators; some only one or two.

The regions include Nouvelle-Aquitaine (including the departments of the Dordogne, Creuse, Gironde and Landes); Occitanie (Ariège, Aude, Gard, Haute-Garonne, Gers and Lot); the Auvergne-Rhône-Alpes (including the Ardèche, Cantal, Drôme, Savoie and Haute-Savoie); and Provence-Alpes-Côte d'Azur (Alpes-Maritimes, Var, and Vaucluse).

There are also plans for Bourgogne-Franche-Comté (including Côte-d'Or, Doubs, and the Jura); Brittany (including Côtes-d'Armor and Finistère); and Normandy (Orne and Manche), and others.

The full list, ordered by region and department alphabetically, with the full list of communes, along with the operators for each, can be seen here.

Related stories:

Drivers using phones in France now risk losing licence

SMS phone location system to launch in France

French NGOs demand stop to ‘out of control’ 5G network

Stay informed:
Sign up to our free weekly e-newsletter
Subscribe to access all our online articles and receive our printed monthly newspaper The Connexion at your home. News analysis, features and practical help for English-speakers in France

Resident or second-home owner in France?
Benefit from our daily digest of headlines and how-to's to help you make the most of life in France
By joining the newsletter, you agree to our Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy
See more popular articles
The Connexion Help Guides
featured helpguide
Income Tax in France 2023 (for 2022 income)*
Featured Help Guide
- Primarily aimed at Britons, covers pensions, rent, ISAs, shares, savings and interest - but also contains significant general information pertinent to readers of other nationalities - Overview of online declarations + step-by-step guide to the French printed forms - Includes updates given automatically after this year's site opened
Get news, views and information from France