2024 MAP: Where are low emission zones in France and what are rules?

Twelve cities now have Crit’Air rules in place restricting certain vehicles from entering

A number of cities have unique rules in place in their low emission zones
Published Last updated

Twelve French cities now have low-emission zones, which restrict the types of vehicles that can drive within their limits.

All vehicles driving through these zones, including foreign-registered ones and two wheelers, must be equipped with a Crit’Air vignette on their windscreen [or the front of the vehicle, such as on fork or mudguard, of a motorbike] showing their pollution levels.

Read more: A guide to Crit’Air stickers in France

You can buy a Crit’Air sticker for your vehicle through the official website (which is available in English)

The zones are known as ZFEs (zones à faibles émissions). Most ban vehicles of a Crit’Air level 4 and above.

In theory, all towns with a population of 150,000 or above are due to implement a ZFE before January 1, 2025.

Below, our map shows the rules in place within each city as well as the locations where new ZFEs are set to be brought in.

Grenoble and Montpellier are running an ‘educational period’ with drivers of Crit’Air level 4 vehicles being informed of the rules, but not being penalised.

Crit’Air level 4 restrictions in Grenoble only apply on weekdays between 08:00 and 19:00.

Crit’Air level 3 vehicles are technically banned in Strasbourg, but drivers are facing an ‘educational period’ with no fines being handed out.

In Paris, Crit’Air level 3 vehicles may be banned before the start of 2025, but this will not come into play before the Olympics.

Toulouse and Montpellier offer ‘passes’ which allow vehicles otherwise banned to access the ZFE for a certain number of days per year.

The cities which have unique rules in place are listed below:

Nice: Cars of a Crit’Air level 5 (and those registered before 1997) are banned, but motorcycles are not yet affected.

Saint-Etienne: Only vehicles first registered before 1997 are banned. Other restrictions apply to lorries and other HGVs.

Clermont-Ferrand: Only vehicles first registered before January 1, 1997 are banned.

Drivers in breach of rules may face fines of €68 per infraction (increased to €135 for drivers of HGVs).

Exact information on which districts within a city are affected can be found through prefecture websites, as well as any other specific rules relating to lorries or other vehicles.

Related articles

Marseille delays ban on older cars: see which other cities also have

Watch out for 2024 Crit’Air car sticker scam in France