top cx logo
cx logo
Explorearrow down
search icon
arrow down

New regions are finally all settled

France now officially has 12 regions – down from 21 at the start of the year - and the names of the 12 have been finalised. 

Bretagne, Ile-de-france, Pays-de-la-Loire and Provence-Alpes-Côte-d’Azur stay as they are while Centre-Val de Loire only changes its name.

Other regions are:

Auvergne-Rhône-Alpes (based in Lyon);

Bourgogne-Franche-Comté, (Dijon);

Hauts-de-France made of Nord-Pas-de-Calais and Picardie (Lille);

Grand Est made of Alsace, Champagne-Ardenne and Lorraine (Stras­bourg);

Occitanie from Languedoc-Roussillon and Midi-Pyrénées (Toulouse);

Normandie joins Haute and Basse Normandie (prefecture in Rouen and council HQ in Caen);

Nouvelle Aquitaine made from Aquitaine, Limousin and Poitou- Charentes (Bordeaux).

Often called a region, Cor­sica now has a separate status as a “collectivité territoriale”.

Resident or second-home owner in France?
Benefit from our daily digest of headlines and how-to's to help you make the most of life in France
By joining the newsletter, you agree to our Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy
See more popular articles
The Connexion Help Guides
featured helpguide
Income Tax in France 2023 (for 2022 income)*
Featured Help Guide
- Primarily aimed at Britons, covers pensions, rent, ISAs, shares, savings and interest - but also contains significant general information pertinent to readers of other nationalities - Overview of online declarations + step-by-step guide to the French printed forms - Includes updates given automatically after this year's site opened
Get news, views and information from France